Accueil > Cinéma, Citations > Dreams of Chaos, Visions of Order: Understanding the American Avant-garde Cinema (1994) – James Peterson

Dreams of Chaos, Visions of Order: Understanding the American Avant-garde Cinema (1994) – James Peterson

In 1973, after the screening of three Frampton films, during which the audience were decidedly restless, a woman asked the filmmaker if he thought his films communicated to an audience. Frampton responded:

« If you mean, do I think I communicated to those in the audience who tramped indignantly out of my films, the answer is no, but I think there is a problem with your idea of communication. You seem to work on the assumption that you have this hole and I have this thing, and you want me to put my thing in your hole and that will be ‘communication’. My idea of communication is very different. It involves my trying to say something I think is important and into which I have put all my thought and substantial labor. Neccessarily, what I have to say will be difficult to apprehend, if it is original enough to be worth saying at all. That is my half of the communicative process. Yours must be to sensitize and educate yourself fully enough to be able to understand. It is only when two people – filmmaker and viewer in this case – can meet as equals that true communication can take place. »

 

Catégories :Cinéma, Citations Étiquettes : , ,
  1. Aucun commentaire pour l’instant.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Laisser un commentaire

